<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d14399830\x26blogName\x3dAAEA+Hollywood\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://aaea-la.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://aaea-la.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d2563442216100269093', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

2008 Academy Awards Recognizes Small Films

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the nominations for best picture for the 80th annual Academy Awards in Beverly Hills, Calif today:

Best Picture: “Atonement”“Juno”“Michael Clayton” “No Country for Old Men” “There Will Be Blood”

Best Actor: George Clooney in “Michael Clayton” Daniel Day-Lewis in “There Will Be Blood” Johnny Depp in “Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” Tommy Lee Jones in “In the Valley of Elah”Viggo Mortensen in “Eastern Promises”

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett in “Elizabeth: The Golden Age” Julie Christie in “Away from Her”Marion Cotillard in “La Vie en Rose” Laura Linney in “The Savages” Ellen Page in “Juno”

Best Director: “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” Julian Schnabel, “Juno” Jason Reitman “Michael Clayton” Tony Gilroy, “No Country for Old Men” Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, “There Will Be Blood” Paul Thomas Anderson

Ruby Dee best supporting actress in “American Gangster.”

The ceremony, scheduled for Feb. 24 and the writers strike issue have not been settled. So the ceremony might not include the traditional televised ceremony with the actors, directors and producers.
Link to this article